Industry Announcements and Events (SSP-L)

ALPSP Upcoming Events - April Update

  • 1.  ALPSP Upcoming Events - April Update

    Posted 04-06-2018 09:09
    Welcome to our April Update. Please read on for details of our programme of events supporting scholarly communications in the coming months……

    BOOKING IS NOW OPEN FOR ALPSP CONFERENCE 2018
    The ALPSP Conference and Awards will take place at the Beaumont Estate in Old Windsor, UK from 12-14 September later this year. We have some fantastic early bird rates available until 31 May, so make sure you register now to take advantage. To book and find out more visit our dedicated conference website. If you are interested in sponsorship opportunities, please contact Sabia Morrison at info@alpsp.org

    ALPSP AWARDS FOR INNOVATION IN PUBLISHING 2018 - CALL FOR ENTRIES
    There is still time to submit your entry for the ALPSP Awards for Innovation in Publishing 2018, sponsored by MPS. Closing date for submissions is 4 May and you can find out how to enter here.

    NEW TO SCHOLARLY PUBLISHING?
    We will soon be running our complementary online training courses providing an Introduction to Journals Publishing. If you or a colleague is new to the sector then take a look at our two courses (below) for a convenient and comprehensive way of getting up to speed with scholarly comms.

    Introduction to Journals Publishing: The role of journals and how to measure success
    Date: Wednesday 16 May,
    Time: 10:00 EST, 15:00 GMT, 16:00 CET
    Provides an overview of journals and membership associations, journal success measures, intellectual property rights and journals marketing.

    Introduction to Journals Publishing: How journals work and the different roles involved in publishing them
    Date: Wednesday 23 May
    Time: 10:00 EST, 15:00GMT, 16:00 CET
    Offers a beginner's guide to Job roles, different types of journals such online, print, open access etc, ethics and the basics of journals marketing.


    TRUST, TRUTH & SCHOLARLY PUBLISHING WEBINAR SERIES

    Publishing without perishing
    Date: Thursday, 26 April 2018,
    Time: 10:00 EST, 15:00 BST, 16:00 CET
    How can scholarly publishers reconcile their desire to serve the research community with their commercial need to benefit from it? In the first webinar of our series on Trust, Truth and Scholarly Publishing - Publishing without Perishing explores the role publishers play in communicating research, what the limiting factors are and how to overcome these to improve dissemination of knowledge?
    Chair: Liz Allen, F1000
    Speakers : Richard Horton, Editor-in-Chief, The Lancet and Jason Hoyt, Co-Founder & CEO, PeerJ

    Other webinars in the Trust, Truth and Scholarly Publishing Series
    Trust, Truth and Scholarly Publishing: The reproducibility opportunity Tuesday 22 May
    Trust, Truth & Scholarly Publishing: Public engagement with scholarly research, Wednesday 27 June


    SAVE THE DATE! - THE POWER OF PARTNERSHIPS SEMINAR – 12 JULY 2018


    To see full details of all our online and face-to-face events please visit our Events and Training page

    ------------------------------
    Heidi Russell-Jones
    Marketing & Communications Executive
    Association of Learned and Professional Society Publishers
    ------------------------------